Taking advantage of the publicity generated from the start of the 2013-14 college football season, Notre Dame announced it named conservative radio talk show host Rush Limbaugh to its Board of Arrogance.

“The responsibilities of the Board are awesome in nature,” Limbaugh said in a university press release. “The Board sets the curriculum for teaching arrogance to new Notre Dame students, and works with school officials to weed out anyone on campus who might show the slightest bit of humility.”

Among other Board duties is naming the annual winner of the prestigious “Pompous Ass of the Year” award.

A huge college and pro football fan, Limbaugh, who briefly attended Southeast Missouri State University in Cape Girardeau, his hometown, said he aims to lobby Board members to have a separate award for arrogance in sports.

“For every unassuming sports personality, like Doc Rivers, Joe Madden and Robin Ventura, there are 10 Mike Kryszewski’s, Charlie Weis’s, Skip Bayless’s and Bill Belichick’s. If I am going to be a working member of this Board, I will insist that these people must be recognized for their pomposity,” Limbaugh said.

Past winners of the award include CNN’s Piers Morgan, Fox News Network commentator Bill O’Reilly, diva Barbra Streisand and Vice President Joe Biden, a three-time recipient.